top of page


NSBA would be nothing without its members and their big achievements all in the name of small business. 

The 2023 packet is now closed.  See you next year! 

In the meantime, check out our previous Winners, and learn more about recognition for your small business. 

*The application process for 2023 is now closed. For information on how to apply and nominate a worthy small business for 2024, contact Ian Elsenbach any time with questions:

Advocate of the Year

The Lew Shattuck Small Business Advocate of the Year Award recognizes small-business owners who go above and beyond in advocating for the small-business community.  Finalists and winners are announced at NSBA’s annual Washington Presentation in Washington, D.C.

Previous Winners

2019 Calvin Mills, Jr. | CMC Technology Solutions and SLT Technology, Inc

2018 Larry Nannis | Lawrence S. Nannis Consultant to Entrepreneurs

2017 David Ickert | Air Tractor, Inc.

2015 Gary Kushner | Kushner & Company

2014 Brian Stein | S&S Intersource

2013 Raymond Arth | Phoenix Products, Inc.

2011 Grafton H. “Cap” Willey, IV | CBIZ Tofias

2010 Michael Mitternight | Factory Service Agency

2009 Thomas C. Pitrone, CFP | The Integrity Group

NSBA Advocate Awards.jpg

The following shape the criteria of our Rising Stars and Advocates of each Year: 

  • A demonstrated commitment to small-business advocacy above and beyond policies that specifically impact their own business or industry;

  • A proven history of volunteer efforts to advance and improve the overall small-business community;

  • Success in advocating for pro-small business policies; and

  • Success and growth as a small-business owner.

2023 applications are now closed. 

Thank you to all who participated. 

Winners will be announced at WP '23!

bottom of page